Our Board

The ASCA Board is responsible for ASCA’s governance and strategy and represents the members. The board has broad experience in school senior management with members selected from principals, retired principals and current school business managers.


Raymond Wilkinson

B Com, LLB (Hons), Dip.Ed, Dip.FS (FP), FACE

Ray Wilkinson is the Chairman of the ASCA Board of Directors. Ray has enjoyed a distinguished career in the education sector where he was Principal of a government secondary college in the metropolitan area for eight years.

Following a successful career as a principal, Ray was appointed to the Merit Protection Boards as the full-time Education Department nominee. The Merit Protection Boards is an independent statutory body established to hear grievances; appeals and reviews from employees of the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (Victoria).

Ray currently works as a financial planner with Retirement Victoria and enjoys providing advice to Victorian Teachers and Principals. Ray has been a Director of ASCA since 1989.

Kate Long

B. Sc., Dip. Ed.

Kate Long is the Deputy Chair of ASCA and has been a director since 2004. Kate was a principal in two metropolitan government secondary schools for a total of 14 years. Over her career she has worked in schools in the Western, Northern and Eastern suburbs. She also serves as a Board Deputy Chair with Kildonan Uniting Care and until recently was the Board Deputy Chair on the State School’s Relief Board.

Rhonda Warburton

Dip. Bus. Admin., Grad. Dip. Ed. Admin

Rhonda Warburton was appointed to the Board in 2011.

Rhonda is the Business Manager for Oakwood School and Flexible Learning Network. Oakwood Flexible Learning Network caters for students who have disengaged from school. Previously she was Business Manager at Carrum Downs Secondary College, South Oakleigh College and Ardoch College where she has served a total of 24 years. Rhonda has extensive experience in the management of budgets, asset management, procurement, facilities and business management, OH&S and HR. Rhonda has also been a nominee of the Minister of Education on the Merit Protection Boards since 1996.

Simon Reid

EMBA, University of Melbourne

Simon Reid is currently the Principal of Freshwater Bay Primary School in WA.

With more than 20 years’ experience in a senior role in the education industry, Simon’s knowledge is extremely beneficial to the Board. Simon’s education background includes principal positions with Caladenia Primary School (WA), East Maddington Primary School (WA), South Newman Primary School, Mullewa District High School (WA) and Oombulgurri Remote Community School (WA).

Nathan Chisholm

B.Ed; M.Ed.

Nathan was appointed to the Board in 2015 and brings deep leadership experience to the group. Nathan is currently the Principal of Prahran High School: a positive, successful and proud Victorian state school. Prior to this appointment, Nathan led a merged P-9 College out of a very difficult period, creating a bright future for that community once again. Nathan is also a part-time member of the Victorian Merit Protection Board and is highly engaged with the DET in Victoria. Nathan’s commitment to student-centred school leadership, ability to lead cultural change and understanding of effective governance are valuable to our Board.

Mark Glover

Mark currently holds the position of Business Manager/CFO at Strathcona Baptist Girls Grammar School in Canterbury. He took up this position in late 2017 after 11 years as Business Manager & Company Secretary at Genazzano FCJ College in Kew and 20 years all up in Catholic Education. He holds responsibilities across all non-academic areas of the School. He is a past-President and Life member of CEBA (Catholic Education Business Administrators Inc.), served on many state-wide Catholic Education committee’s and panels and currently serves as a National Board Member of ASBA Ltd (Australian School Bursars Association) and is the State Vice-President and PD Convenor for ASBA (Vic).

Michael Phillips

B.Ec, Dip. Ed, FACEL, OAM

Michael Phillips was appointed to the Board in August 2017. He is currently the Principal of Ringwood Secondary College and has extensive experience at this level for nearly 25 years. He has served as an active member of a number of boards in the education sector and also leads a Registered Training Organisation (RTO) – Ringwood Training, that offers specialist training in the VET sector. Michael is a member of the Expert Principals Advisory Group,   Schools’ Finance and Resource Branch (Department of Education and Training). Michael’s leadership ability has been recognised with a number of leadership awards including the Victorian Outstanding School Leadership Award.

Deborah Lehner

Deborah retired after 48 years with the Department of Education. For the last 21 years of service she was Principal at first Glenfern College and then at Mentone Girls’ Secondary College, where she remained for 19 years. She was a strong supporter of state education, serving in boys technical schools, co-educational secondary schools and of course girls’ schools. Deborah was committed to the attraction of women to the Principal Class, and to the development of leadership opportunities for women in the department. As a Principal she managed a big budget that was able to do a lot more as the school raised large sums locally. Her careful husbandry of the funding allowed for a major overhaul of facilities across the College. She is committed to equality in education and is a passionate supporter of the work of the Board in providing funds for improvement of access to education for all.